January 03 2024, by Hans Kleinsman


›› Weng dominates on way to GPI crown

 ›› Foxen extends record to four

 ›› Pupillo survives the charge

 ›› Over 80 earn National titles



LAS VEGAS, January 3, 2024 – The Global Poker Index (GPI) have announced the champions of their Player of the Year races for the 2023 live tournament poker season …



Bin Weng had a few challengers to the 2023 GPI PoY title, but in the end, it wasn’t much of a race as Weng dominantly closed things, collecting over 5,000 GPI points to earn his first-ever PoY victory.

Weng was red-hot on the US poker circuit in 2023, earning 6 wins, 20 Top 10 finishes, and 55 total results during the year.

His wins included a pair of WPT titles – the WPT Seminole Hard Rock Showdown in May and the WPT EveryOne for One Drop in Las Vegas in July – two other titles at Wynn Las Vegas, the WSOP Circuit Main Event ring at Horseshoe Las Vegas and a victory at the return of major tournament poker at Borgata in Atlantic City to kick off 2023.

2022 GPI PoY Stephen Song finished 43rd in this year’s race.

2023 GPI PoY Top 5

  1. Bin Weng (USA) 5,008.99 pts
  2. Jose Nacho Barbero (ARG) -621.27
  3. Ren Lin (CHN) -748.05
  4. Isaac Haxton (USA) -840.37
  5. Daniel Tang (HKG) -901.85




 Canadian great Kristen Foxen has added a fourth title to her resume. Just a few years after going on a record-setting back-to-back-to-back run, Foxen wins the GPI Female Player of the Year title once again, defeating a fellow former GPI Female PoY winner, Nadya Magnus.

Foxen’s 2023 included 7 Top 10 finishes and 21 results – she ended the season with a 33rd place finish at the WPT World Championship at Wynn Las Vegas.

2022 GPI Female PoY Cherish Andrews finished 6th in this year’s race.

2023 GPI Female PoY Top 5

1. Kristen Foxen (CAN) 2,970.93 pts
2. Nadya Magnus (USA) -403.96
3. Kitty Kuo (TWN) -568.15
4. Victoria Livschitz (USA) -728.91
5. Maria Ho (USA) -875.84



 In the closest race of the year, Nick Pupillo fended off a late charge from Preston McEwen to win the Mid-Major title by just 41.79 points.

Pupillo earned consistent results at multiple buy-in levels in 2023. His 3rd place finish in the Mid-States Poker Tour event at Venetian in late November proved the clincher in the race for Mid-Major PoY.

2022 GPI Mid-Major PoY Stephen Song finished 14th in this year’s race.

2023 GPI Mid-Major PoY Top 5

1. Nick Pupillo (USA) 2,819.77 pts
2. Preston McEwen (USA) -41.79
3. William Kopp (USA) -126.18
4. Ankit Ahuja (IND) -167.13
5. Blake Bohn (USA) -279.46

Weng, Foxen, and Pupillo will be invited to accept their GPI PoY trophies at the Global Poker Awards, presented at the PokerGO Studio ARIA in Las Vegas, broadcast exclusively on PokerGO. An announcement on the 5th Global Poker Awards is expected soon.



A total of 85 players earned the minimum 1,000 points necessary to be recognized as their country’s National Player of the Year, including Stephen Chidwick, who is crowned UK Player of the Year for the fourth straight year…


2023 GPI Players of the Year

2023 GPI PoY Bin Weng (USA) 5,008.99
2023 GPI Female PoY Kristen Foxen (CAN) 2,970.77
2023 GPI Mid-Major PoY Nick Pupillo (USA) 2,819.77


GPI PoY: North America Bin Weng (USA) 5,008.99
GPI PoY: South America Jose Nacho Barbero (ARG) 4,387.72
GPI PoY: Europe Stephen Chidwick (UK) 3,904.93
GPI PoY: Asia Ren Lin (CHN) 4,260.94




2023 GPI Players of the Year

Algeria Omar Lakhdari 2,533.63
Argentina Jose Nacho Barbero 4,387.72
Armenia Aren Bezhanyan 2,426.56
Australia John Perry 2,458.01
Austria Daniel Rezaei 3,118.34
Azerbaijan David Mzareulov 2,345.47
Belarus Mikita Bodyakovsky 3,316.75
Belgium Thomas Boivin 3,245.15
Bosnia & Herzegovina Fikret Kovac 1,403.56
Brazil Pedro Vinicius Garagnani 3,388.19
Bulgaria Alex Kulev 3,432.44
Canada Daniel Dvoress 3,633.63
Chile Nick Yunis 2,137.62
China Ren Lin 4,260.94
Colombia Farid Jattin 2,856.03
Costa Rica Federico Francisco Quevedo Diaz 1,140.20
Croatia Sverko Gregor 1,765.21
Cuba Carlos Bermudez 1,573.48
Cyprus Yiannis Liperis 2,627.06
Czechia Roman Hrabec 3,281.57
Denmark Henrik Hecklen 2,837.61
Estonia Tarmo Tammel 1,892.27
Finland Eelis Parssinen 3,013.36
France Fabrice Bigot Castagnet 3,151.36
Georgia Giorgiy Skhuluhiya 2,853.50
Germany Leon Sturm 2,935.85
Greece Georgios Sotiropoulos 2,138.33
Guatemala Mario Alejandro Del Valle Rivas 1,041.32
Hong Kong Daniel Tang 4,107.14
Hungary Norbert Szecsi 2,154.80
India Ankit Ahuja 3,406.43
Indonesia Jhon Hendri 1,790.41
Iran Nariman Yaghmai 2,195.55
Ireland Gary Thompson 2,184.06
Israel Yuval Bronshtein 2,788.97
Italy Michael Rossitto 3,172.18
Japan Shimizu Nozomu 3,381.00
Kazakhstan Baurzhan Akimov 1,967.61
Kyrgystan Kubanychbek Abakirov 1,963.01
Latvia Aleksejs Ponakovs 3,146.86
Lebanon Rayan Chamas 1,958.16
Lithuania Vladas Tamasauskas 3,028.23
Luxembourg Sihao Zhang 1,499.13
Malaysia Chin Wei Lim 3,302.88
Malta Corel Theuma 1,632.73
Mexico Angel Guillen 2,040.18
Moldova Pavel Plesuv 2,361.85
Montenegro Vlado Banicevic 1,065.13
Morocco Mehdi Chaoui 2,789.90
Netherlands Jans Arends 3,170.04
New Zealand Natalia Rozova 1,548.54
North Macedonia Ilija Savevski 1,689.89
Northern Cyprus Dmitrij Pokhabov 1,159.20
Norway Espen Uhlen Jorstad 2,905.01
Panama Jose Severino 1,872.82
Peru Diego Ventura 2,105.96
Philippines James Mendoza 2,685.41
Poland Dzmitry Urbanovich 2,047.02
Portugal Joao Vieira 3,105.92
Puerto Rico Fernando Rodriguez Vazquez 1,022.77
Romania Mihai Niste 2,305.82
Russia Artur Martirosyan 3,769.36
Senegal Hassan Nashar 1,046.33
Serbia Milos Petakovic 2,839.72
Singapore Jun Hao Wu 2,472.73
Slovakia Tomas Patka 1,866.33
Slovenia Tjan Tepeh 2,021.76
South Africa Ahmed Karrim 2,180.50
South Korea Jinho “YellOw” Hong 2,942.35
Spain Adrian Mateos 3,403.34
Sri Lanka Sutharsan Ariyanayagam 1,033.34
Sweden Martin Jacobson 2,169.18
Switzerland Dinesh Alt 2,216.48
Syria Ahmad Rami Naall 1,044.03
Taiwan Ting Yi Eric Tsai 2,912.51
Thailand Punnat Punsri 3,229.25
Tunisia Maher Achour 1,820.34
Turkey Orpen Kisacikoglu 3,356.34
Ukraine Igor Yaroshevskyy 3,030.31
United Arab Emirates Enrico Mosca 1,122.10
United Kingdom Stephen Chidwick 3,904.93
United States of America Bin Weng 5,008.99
Uruguay Francisco Benitez 2,171.40
Uzbekistan Valeriy Pak 3,081.85
Venezuela Dorian Rios Pavon 2,518.24
Vietnam Minh Phu Dao 2,753.89



Congratulations to all of 2023 GPI PoY winners!


For further information:

Anthony Charter

PR & Communications Manager

[email protected]



Global Poker Index® (GPI) is live tournament poker’s ranking authority – classifying more than 640,000 active players from over 100 countries across over 30,000 festivals. The Hendon Mob Poker Database (THM) has archived over 569,000 live poker tournaments and 4.6 million individual results and is continually updated via real-time data collection from over 2,200 partner venues. Global Poker Index and The Hendon Mob are trading names of Mediarex Group, a global sports and entertainment organization, founded in Malta in 2012. For more information, visit http://globalpokerindex.com/ and http://thehendonmob.com/


Related articles

About the author